I Love You, Goodnight!

  
Clock-face ticking,

Sleep dust sticking,
Eyelids slipping, 

Tantrum gripping.

Covers too wrinkly,

Bunched up and crinkly.

Bears in the wrong place,

Wrong bear, wrong face

Don’t want a bear they scare me,

I want a frog to sleep with me.

Or a dog to sleep with me,

You must have known that surely! 

Clock-face ticking, 

Sleep dust sticking,

Eyelids slipping, 

Tantrum gripping.

Night is too black for me

Turn on the light so I can see

It’s shadowy and creepy 

I’m too scared to be sleepy.

Turn off the black,

Turn on the light,

Not that one that’s much too bright,

It needs to feel a bit like night

You must not vanish out of sight.

Clock-face ticking, 

Sleep dust sticking,

Eyelids slipping,

Tantrum gripping.

I’m thirsty now I need a drink,

Much too parched to sleep a wink,

I want it in the blue cup,

That lovely shiny new cup,

Not the one I scratch and chew

I want the one that’s clean and new,

And most of all it must be BLUE.

And then I’ll sleep I promise you.

Clock-face ticking, 
Sleep dust sticking,

Eyelids slipping, 

Tantrum gripping.

Come quick and tuck me in again,

My foot is sticking out again,

A monsters on the light again, 

Switch it on to bright again, 

You must not go away again,

Hold my hand and stay again,

Until I go to sleep again,

But only if I keep again,

That promise not to weep again,

To scream and shout and throw again,

It’s just I love you so again,

You’ll keep me safe I know again,

Don’t ever let me go again.

  

(For my two littlest lovelies).

https://www.facebook.com/teachingtinyminds/

Leave a Reply

